MENU

Friday 29.03.2019 / Saturday 30.03.2019
Chicago's New Generation - World Premiere

Corey Dennison, Dave Specter, Andrew Duncanson & Band (USA)

Three white Chicago greats in one band. This is another project that was jointly conceived by Groove Now and the musicians. Together, Corey Dennison, Dave Specter, and Andrew Duncanson represent the new sound of Chicago. 

Bandleader, guitarist, and singer Corey Dennison is the youngest amongst them.

read more

Formed in 2013, The Corey Dennison Band has become a favorite attraction at Chicago blues venues, including twice-weekly appearances at Kingston Mines. Led by Dennison’s soulful voice and muscular guitar, the band released their self-titled studio debut for the legendary Delmark Records in 2016 after honing 13 original songs night after night on the bandstand. Critics and radio polls responded favorably as the album garnered glowing reviews and constant worldwide airplay, netting chart positions on the Roots Music and Living Blues Radio Reports. Nominations followed suit, with a nod for ‘Best Emerging Artist’ from the Blues Music Awards, a pair from Blues Blast Magazine, and Grammy balloting.

Guitarist, bandleader, and producer Dave Specter is the best known of the three. He has been performing regularly since 1985 and has earned an international reputation as one of the premier musicians on the Chicago blues scene. He has released more than 10 records under his own name and has played on countless records of other artists, including Tad Robinson and Steve Freund.

Andrew Duncanson is the mastermind, guitarist, and singer of the mind-blowing band, The Kilborn Alley Blues Band – maybe the best-kept secret in modern blues. The band has released six fantastic CDs – four of them on the label of Nick Moss. Besides his guitar work, Duncanson has one of the best voices in blues and soul. Even great singers like Curtis Salgado or Chicago blues mates like Nick Moss hold Duncanson in the highest esteem. 

The three protagonists are backed by Gerry Hundt (guitars, vocals) who was nominated for ‘Best Instrumentalist’ at the Blues Music Awards in 2008, 2009, 2010, & 2011, Joel Baer on bass, and Aaron Whittier on drums.

Dave Specter – guitar
Corey Dennison – guitar, vocals
Andrew Duncanson – guitar, vocals
Gerry Hundt – guitar, vocals
Joel Baer – bass
Aaron Whitter – drums


Concert details:
Friday/Saturday, March 29 & 30, 2019
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel 
Showtime: 20.30 h
Doors: Friday: 20 h / Saturday: 19.30 h
Tickets: Friday: CHF 49 (Special price thanks to Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank) / Saturday: CHF 59


No seating guarantee!


back

The Best Live Roadhouse Blues Band On The Planet

Chris O’Leary Band Featuring Guitar Heroe Chris Vitarello (USA)

The Undisputed Heavyweight Champion of Soul & Blues Is Back

Sugaray Rayford & Band (USA)

The most Innovative and Best British Blues Guitarist is Back

Matt Schofield Band (UK)

MENU

Freitag 29.03.2019 / Samstag 30.03.2019
Chicago's New Generation - Weltpremière

Corey Dennison, Dave Specter, Andrew Duncanson & Band (USA)

Drei weisse Chicago-Grössen in einer Band. Dabei handelt es sich um ein weiteres Projekt, das von Groove Now zusammen mit den Musikern definiert wurde. Zusammen, Corey Dennison, Dave Specter und Andrew Duncanson repräsentieren den neuen Sound von Chicago. 

Der Bandleader, Gitarrist und Sänger Corey Dennison ist der jüngste unter ihnen.

mehr lesen

Gegründet im Jahr 2013 wurde die Corey Dennison Band rasch zu einer Attraktion in den Bluesclubs von Chicago. Geprägt von der gefühlvollen Stimme und dem muskulösen Gitarrenspiel von Dennison hat die Band ihr CD-Debut im Jahr 2016 auf dem legendären Label Delmark Records veröffentlicht. Die 13 Titel der CD wurden Abend um Abend auf der Bühne einstudiert. Die CD wurde von Kritikern und Radiostationen sehr positive aufgenommen und erhielten sehr gutes Echo und wurden weltweit von den Radiostationen gespielt. Die Nominationen liessen nicht lange auf sich warten. Die Band wurde zur besten Nachwuchsband erkoren.

Gitarrist, Bandleader and Produzent Dave Specter ist sicherlich der Bekannteste der drei Musiker. Seit 1985 ist er als Profi-Musiker tätig und geniesst international Reputation als einer der wichtigsten Musiker der Chicago-Blues-Szene. Er hat mehr als zehn Alben unter seinem eigenen Namen veröffentlicht und auf unzähligen Veröffentlichungen von andersen Musikern mitgewirkt.

Andrew Duncanson is der Kopf, Gitarrist und Sänger der atemberaubenden The Kilborn Alley Blues Band, vielleicht das am besten gehütete Geheimnis im Modern Blues. Die Band hat sechs tolle CD veröffentlicht; vier davon auf dem Label von Nick Moss. Neben seinem Gitarrenspiel besitzt Duncanson eine der besten Stimmen im Blues und Soul. So haben Sänger wie Curtis Salgado oder der genannte Nick Moss allerhöchsten Respekt vor Duncanson.

Die drei Protagonisten werden unterstützt von Gerry Hundt (Gitarren, Vocals), der bei den Blues Music Awaqrds 2008, 2009, 2010 und 2011 als bester Multiinstrumentalist nominiert wurde. Joel Baer ist am Bass; Aaron Whittier am Schlagzeug.

Dave Specter – guitar
Corey Dennison – guitar, vocals
Andrew Duncanson – guitar, vocals
Gerry Hundt – guitar, vocals
Joel Baer – bass
Aaron Whitter – drums


Konzert Details:
Freitag/Samstag, 29. und 30. März 2019
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel 
Konzertbeginn: 20.30 h
Türöffnung: Freitag: 20 h / Samstag: 19.30 h
Tickets: Feitag: CHF 49 (Spezialpreis dank der Basellandschaftlichen Kantonalbank) / Samstag: CHF 59


Keine Sitzplatzgarantie!


Zurück

The Undisputed Heavyweight Champion of Soul & Blues Is Back

Sugaray Rayford & Band with Special Guest Lisa Mann (USA)

The most Innovative and Best British Blues Guitarist is Back

Matt Schofield Band (UK/USA)

One of the best Voices in Contemporary Blues and Grammy Nominee

Danielle Nicole Band (USA)