MENU

Friday 23.11.2018 / Saturday 24.11.2018
Texas Blues At Its Best live at Atlantis:

Anson Funderburgh's Texas Rhythm & Blues Revue (USA)

feat. Greg Izor & Big Joe Maher

He’s a Texan and a guitarist like Stevie Ray Vaughan, he was born in 1954 just like him, but Anson Funderburgh is so modest that he doesn’t even have a website of his own. And just like Stevie Ray’s big brother Jimmie Vaughan, Anson is famous not for playing too many notes, but exactly the right ones. 

This is why Funderburgh is considered, by many blues connoisseurs, one of the world’s best guitarists in any genre. read more

For Groove Now, he is by now an old acquaintance: he conquered Basel by storm a few years ago with his Texas colleague Holland K. Smith, then a second time together with the Andy T-Nick Nixon Band out of Nashville. Now this brilliant player comes back with his very own „Texas Rhythm & Blues Revue“, with New Orleans resident, harmonicist and singer Greg Izor fronting the band, and Washington (D.C.) drummer Big Joe Maher as an additional singer and songwriter.

The multiple winner of diverse Blues Music Awards, Anson Funderburgh definitely carries on the great tradition of mythic Texas Blues guitarists such as Fredie King and Albert Collins. With his legendary Rockets, he was on the road for decades with the renowned Sam Myers, he has been extremely successful as a producer, and in the last few years he has been working extensively with Eric Lindell and Mark Hummel. As a perfectionist and a man of few words, he has never soiught the limelight for himself, but now, with this extraordinary „Rhythm & Blues Revue“, he offers us a unique occasion to experience „Texas Blues At Its Best“, with an exquisite and hand-picked line-up transforming Basel, for two evenings, into a true sister city of Austin (Texas)!

Anson Funderburgh - Guitar
Greg Izor - harp & vocals
Big Joe Maher - drums & vocals
Gentleman John Street - organ
Christian Dozzler - piano
Eric Przygocki - bass

Tickets >> 

Concert Details:
Friday/Saturday, November 23 & 24, 2018
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Showtime: Friday/Saturday, 20.30 h
Doors: Friday, 20 h / Saturday, 19.30 h
Tickets: Friday, CHF 49 (Special price thanks to Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank) / Saturday, CHF 59


back

The Blues Star with his New Big Band Project

Mike Zito and his Big Blues Band feat. The B.B. King Horns (USA)

Blues Music Award Winner 2018

Chicago's New Generation

Corey Dennison, Dave Specter, Andrew Duncanson & Band (USA)

The Blues Superstars are Back

The Blues Giants (USA)

feat. Sugaray Rayford, Albert Castiglia, Nick Schnebelen, Willie J. Campbell, and Jimi Bott (USA)

MENU

Freitag 23.11.2018 / Samstag 24.11.2018
Texas Blues At Its Best live at Atlantis:

Anson Funderburgh's Texas Rhythm & Blues Revue (USA)

feat. Greg Izor & Big Joe Maher

Er ist Texaner und Gitarrist wie Stevie Ray Vaughan, hat exakt denselben Jahrgang (1954), aber Anson Funderburgh ist so bescheiden, dass er nicht mal eine eigene Webseite hat. Und genau wie Stevie Rays grosser Bruder Jimmie Vaughan ist Anson berühmt dafür, dass er nicht allzu viele Noten spielt, dafür die richtigen. 

Gerade darum gilt Funderburgh unter Blues-Fans schlicht als einer der weltbesten Vertreter seines Instruments. mehr lesen

Bei Groove Now gehört er nachgerade zu den alten Bekannten: bereits vor ein paar Jahren hat er Basel erobert, im Gespann mit seinem texanischen Landsmann Holland K. Smith, ein zweites Mal dann zusammen mit der Andy T-Nick Nixon Band aus Nashville. Aber diesmal kommt der brillante Gitarrero mit seiner höchst eigenen „Texas Rhythm & Blues Revue“, als Frontmann fungiert der in New Orleans lebende Harmonika-Meister und Sänger Greg Izor, zusätzliche Unterstützung liefert der singende Schlagzeuger und Songschreiber Big Joe Maher aus Washington (D.C.).

Als mehrfacher Gewinner diverser Blues Music Awards steht Anson Funderburgh ganz klar in der Nachfolge der famosen Texas-Blues-Gitarristen von Freddie King bis Albert Collins. Mit seinen legendären Rockets war er jahrelang mit dem grossen Texas-Bluesmann Sam Myers unterwegs, auch als Produzent ist er höchst erfolgreich, und in jüngster Zeit arbeitet er regelmässig mit Eric Lindell und Mark Hummel zusammen. Ein schweigsamer Perfektionist, stellt er sein eigenes Licht allzu oft unter den Scheffel. So bietet das Gastspiel seiner „Rhythm & Blues Revue“ eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, endlich wieder einmal „Texas Blues At Its Best“ zu erleben, in einer exquisiten und handverlesenen Besetzung, die Basel sozusagen zur Schwesterstadt von Austin (Texas) macht!

Anson Funderburgh - Guitar
Greg Izor - harp & vocals
Big Joe Maher - drums & vocals
Gentleman John Street - organ
Christian Dozzler - piano
Eric Przygocki - bass 

Tickets >> 

Konzertangaben:
Freitag/Samstag, 23./24. November 2018
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Konzertbeginn: Freitag/Samstag: 20.30 h
Türöffnung: Freitag, 20 h / Samstag, 19.30 h
Tickets: Freitag, CHF 49 (Spezialpreis dank der Basellandschaftlichen Kantonalbank) / Samstag, CHF 59 

 

Impressionen
Weiterführende Links


Zurück

The Blues Star with his New Big Band Project

Mike Zito and his Big Blues Band feat. The B.B. King Horns (USA)

Blues Music Award Winner 2018

Chicago's New Generation

Corey Dennison, Dave Specter, Andrew Duncanson & Band (USA)

The Blues Superstars are Back

The Blues Giants (USA)

feat. Sugaray Rayford, Albert Castiglia, Nick Schnebelen, Willie J. Campbell, and Jimi Bott (USA)