MENU

Friday 22.11.2019 / Saturday 23.11.2019
Maybe the best female Voice in Contemporary Blues and Grammy Nominee

Danielle Nicole Band (USA)

One of the most in demand bands in contemporary blues & roots music

Founding member, lead singer, and bass player of the Kansas City blues-rock band, Trampled Underfoot, Danielle Nicole stepped out on her own in 2015 with her debut album “Wolf Den.” In 2018, Nicole returns with the follow-up release, “Cry No More”, on Concord Records.

read more


 


With through-the-roof emotional vocals, “Cry No More” is no ordinary blues-roots album with an R&B twist. It’s rootsy with a musical edge and some of the best vocals to be heard in a very long time. “Cry No More” is a standout album with exquisite musicianship by Nicole, her band, and a cast of all-star guest musicians. 


Danielle Nicole is superb. What a voice, what a band, what great songs. You have to hear her to believe it. After leaving her family band, Trampled Underfoot, she fast became a headlining artist. Her debut album, “Wolf Den”, proved that she could hold her own and then some. She was the first woman to win The Blues Foundation’s 2014 Blues Music Award for ‘Best Instrumentalist-Bass’.


"I grew up playing the blues, and the blues is still a big part of what I do. But now I'm reaching out more and trying different things. It still sounds like me, but I'm stretching out a lot more than I have previously.", Nicole explains.


Nicole's distinctive, inventive bass work, which resulted in her becoming the first woman to win the Blues Foundation's 2014 Blues Music Award for ‘Best Instrumentalist-Bass’, is the product of years of intensive roadwork. Although she had no experience with the instrument when she became Trampled Under Foot's bassist, now she can't imagine life without it. 


“When I started doing my solo thing, someone asked me if I was gonna hire a bass player.  No, of course not!”, she continues.,  “I originally picked up the bass to keep Trampled Under Foot a family band, but I really fell in love with it.  It was a huge challenge, and it still is.  But I really love being part of the groove and getting to sing on top of that.  I had learned some stuff on acoustic guitar before I started playing bass, but I never really felt connected to it the way I do with the bass.  It's empowering, walking onto a stage full of grown men who can play their asses off, and it's OK, I'm gonna play this bass, we're gonna do this, and it's gonna rock."


"I think that it's a good time for the kind of thing I'm doing," she states. "From my years of playing blues festivals, I've seen that younger and younger audiences are getting into the blues. I think that people want to hear authentic music again."


Danielle Nicole – Vocals, Bass
Brandon Miller – Guitars
Cameron Tyler - Drums


Concert Details:
Friday/Saturday, November 22 & 23, 2019
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Showtime: 20.30 h
Doors: Friday: 20 h / Saturday: 19.30 h
Tickets: Friday: CHF 49 (Special price thanks to Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank) / Saturday: CHF 59


No seating guarnatee!

Impressions
Related Links


back

10 Years of Groove Now - Stars & Friends: the Hardest The Hardest Bluesin & Rockin' Guitar Masters

Albert Castiglia All-Stars (USA)

with Special Guests Johnny Sansone & Jimmy Carpenter

10 Years of Groove Now - Stars & Friends: The Hottest Chicago Blues Guitar Heroes Together

Chicago Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

featuring Dave Specter, Billy Flynn & Guy King

10 Jahre Groove Now – Stars & Friends - Best Band In The Land & CD of the Year Candidate

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

Band of the Year 2018

MENU

Freitag 22.11.2019 / Samstag 23.11.2019
Maybe the best female voice in Contemporary Blues and Grammy Nominee

Danielle Nicole Band (USA)

One of the most in demand bands in contemporary blues & roots music

Danielle war Gründungsmitglied, Sängerin und Bassistin der Blues-Rock-Band Tampled Under Foot aus Kansas City, die im Jahr 2012 bei Groove Now auf der Bühne stand. 2015 hat sich Danielle Nicole dann auf ihre eigene Musikkarriere konzentriert und das Debutalbum “Wolf Den” veröffentlicht. Im 2018 folgte dann  “Cry No More” (Concord Records).

mehr lesen


 


Ihre unglaubliche und hoch emotionale Stimme macht “Cry No More” zu einem aussergewöhnlichen Blues- oder Rootsalbum; erdig mit starkem Bezug zu R&B ist auf dem Album Gesang zu hören, wie man ihn lange nicht vernommen hat. “Cry No More” sticht aus der Masse heraus. 


Danielle Nicole ist aussergewöhnlich. Was für eine Stimme, was für eine Band und welch tolle Songs. Man muss Danielle erlebt haben, um sich ein wahres Bild von ihr zu machen. Nachdem sie die Familienband - Trampled Underfoot – verlassen hat, wurde sie schnell zum Headliner veschiedener Festivals. Ihr Debutalbum “Wolf Den” hat bewiesen, dass sie auch ohne ihre Brüder ihren Weg machen wird. Danielle war die erste Frau, die einen Blues Music Award als ‘Best Instrumentalist-Bass’ gewonnen hat (2014).


"Ich bin mit Blues aufgewachsen und Blues hat nach wie vor einen zentralen Stellenwert in meiner Musik. Gleichzeitig entwickle ich mich stetig weiter und möchte auch andere Dinge ausprobieren. Es tönt nach wie vor nach mir, aber ich dehne den Begriff von Blues weiter aus als zuvor", erläutert Nicole.


Nicoles eigener, innovativer Bassstil, der dazu führte, dass sie als erste Frau im 2014 einen Blues Music Award als beste Instrumentalistin erhielt, ist das Resulat von jahrelangen intensive Tourneen. Als sie Bassistin von Trampled Under Foot wurde, waren ihren Instrumentenkenntnisse noch beschränkt. Heute ist sie eine wichtige Stimme am Bass. 


“Als ich meine Solo-Karriere startet fragte mich jemand, ob ich einen Bassisten engagieren würde. "Natürlich nicht!”, antwortete sie. “Ich spielte Bass bei Trampled Under Foot und verliebte mich in dieses Instrument.  Es war eine grosse Herausforderung und ist es nach wie vor. Aber ich liebe es, zu grooven und gleichzeitig dazu zu singen. Ich habe vorher ein wenig akustische Gitarre gespielt, fühlte mich jedoch nie so verbunden damit, wie ich dies mit dem Bass fühle. Es bestärkt mich, auf die Bühne zu gehen und unter all diesen gestandenen Musikern zu stehen, die unglaubliche Musik machen. Es ist okay, ich spiele den Bass, wir spielen unsere Musik und es rockt."


"Ich denke, es ist der richtige Zeitpunkt, für das, was ich mache. Nach all den Jahren auf der Bühne habe ich festgestellt, das simmer mehr jüngere Menschen zum Blues finden. Ich denke, dass Menschen wieder authentische Musik hören möchten."


Danielle Nicole – Vocals, Bass
Brandon Miller – Guitars
Cameron Tyler - Drums 


 


Konzertangaben:
Freitag/Samstag, 22. & 23. November 2019
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Konzertbeginn: 20.30 h
Türöffnung: Freitag: 20 h / Samstag: 19.30 h
Tickets: Freitag: CHF 49 (Spezialpreis dank der Basellandschaftlichen Kantonalbank) / Samstag: CHF 59


Keine Sitzplatzgarantie!


 

Impressionen
Weiterführende Links


Zurück

10 Years of Groove Now - Stars & Friends: The Hardest Bluesin' & Rockin' Guitar Masters

Albert Castiglia All-Stars (USA)

with Special Guests Johnny Sansone & Jimmy Carpenter

10 Years of Groove Now - Stars & Friends: The Hottest Chicago Blues Guitar Heroes Together

Chicago Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

featuring Dave Specter, Billy Flynn & Guy King

10 Years Groove Now – Stars & Friends - Best Band In The Land & CD of the Year Candidate

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

Band of the Year 2018