Friday 16.09.2022 / 20:30 h
Limited Edition - Only Concert in Europe - The Guitar Player of the Fabulous Thunderbirds with a Texas All-Star Band

Johnny Moeller presents the Moeller Brothers feat. Paul Size & Mike Barfield (USA)

Johnny Moeller has been on Groove Now's wish list for 10 years. He is one of the few musicians who we have not been able to present, until now. It is not easy to bring him to Europe for the relatively simple reason that Johnny is the guitarist for Kim Wilson’s legendary band – The Fabulous Thunderbirds. He therefore always has to consider the concert dates of the “T-Birds” first.


 

read more


We are therefore extremely fortunate that after many years and tireless efforts, Groove Now has managed to bring this great guitarist and musician to Europe for an exclusive concert in Basel. With Johnny we were able to define a great program – a program with musicians who have accompanied Johnny for a lifetime. In addition to his brother and drummer Jay (the brothers together are also known as The Moeller Brothers), the great guitarist Paul Size will also take the stage. Last but not least, Johnny brings along singer, Mike Barfield, who is unfortunately, not yet known to us.

Johnny is from Fort Worth, Texas. He was born in 1970 and grew up in a musical family. He heard a lot of blues and soul growing up. Rock music also flowed from the radio. At the same time, he immersed himself in the music of the great jazz guitarist Grant Green. While still in high school, he played in clubs in Dallas and Fort Worth. The blues was and always remains the compass of Johnny's music.

In the summer, when Johnny and his younger brother who played the drums were 16 and 15 years old, they played in Austin’s legendary club Antone’s. Its owner - Clifford Antone - who played a key role in Stevie Ray Vaughan's career, speaks highly about Johnny Moeller: “Johnny, nobody can burn like that kid. He's got the heart like Stevie had, about the only one I've seen with that kind of heart. Johnny's so quiet and bashful, just a sweet kid and sometimes those kids get overlooked.”

Anyone who has seen Johnny Moeller live will not soon forget him – his guitar playing is extremely dynamic – he masters all forms of guitar playing while at the same time incorporating numerous styles. He is hardly comparable to any other guitarist. His guitar playing sings, swings, grooves, and rocks. Johnny plays and amalgamation of different musical styles –funk, soul, blues and rock'n'roll. He plays chords and solos that are more reminiscent of a piano or even jazz. It doesn't fit in a drawer. He is influenced by Freddie King, Earl King, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Grant Green and the Vaughan brothers. However, if you are looking to find links between his playing style and that of other Texans like Albert Collins or Stevie Ray Vaughan, you will simply not find them.

Johnny Moeller has appeared on numerous albums and has immortalized his distinctive licks, for example on recordings by Darrell Nulisch, Lou Pride, Steve Guyger or Tad Robinson. He has been a T-Bird with Kim Wilson's Fabulous Thunderbirds since 2007. Johnny has three solo albums from 2010 – "The Return of the Funky Worm", "Johnny’s Blues Aggregation" and "Bloogaloo!". Johnny lives with his wife and three children in Austin, where he mostly plays local gigs when he is not on the road with the T-Birds.

The other great guitarist on stage, Paul Size, is from Dallas and has been a member of the legendary band “The Red Devils” for three years. Paul has played with world-famous musicians such as Mick Jagger, Los Lobos, The Allman Brothers, The Black Crowes, Doyle Bramhall and Doyle Bramhall II. ZZ top legend Billy Gibbons thinks Paul is one of the ten best guitarists he has ever seen – a superlative that is hard to beat.


Johnny’s drum-playing brother – Jay – was also a “T-Bird” a few years ago. Besides his brother Johnny, Jay plays with many other Texas musicians including Shawn Pittman. Jay has also contributed to Gary Clark Jr.'s recordings.

With Mike Barfield, Johnny brings another comrade to Basel, with whom he has played for many years. Mike is rather unknown in Europe. He has a great voice and a big presence on stage. Mike embodies the Memphis blues and soul in the style of Tony Joe White. He also likes to move on stage in the style of James Brown.

Johnny is currently working on one project with his brother and Paul Size and on two other projects with Mike Barfield, which will surely be an important part of the show in Basel.

For this concert, the bass will be played by one of the many great Texas bass players that will be decided on by Johnny at relatively short notice. In any case, we can look forward to a musical firework display that is rarely seen in Europe - if at all. For this reason, we are particularly pleased that our years of efforts have paid off and that we were able to tear Johnny away from the “T-Birds” for his only concert in Europe.

The lucky ticket holders of this concert can look forward to great musicians and musical fireworks.

Johnny Moeller - Guitar, Vocals
Jay Moeller - Drums, Vocals
Paul Size - Guitar
Mike Barfield - Vocals, Shakers
Tbd - Bass

Concert details:
Friday, September 16, 2022
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Door opening: 20:00
Concert start: 20:30
Tickets: CHF 69

No seating guaranteed!

Videos
Download Press Picture


back

Band Of The Year - Eight Nominations For The US Blues Music Awards 2020

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

The greatest voice in Blues & Roots is back

Danielle Nicole Band (USA)

The best Blues Guitar Players of Texas

Texas Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

Feat. Anson Funderburgh, Shawn Pittman & Mike Morgan (USA)

Florida and West Coast All-Stars Play The Blues - World Premiere

Doug Deming‘s Blues All-Stars USA)

feat. Junior Watson, Terry Hanck & Sax Gordon

20 US Blues Music Award Nominiations: The Best Soul-Blues Singer On The Planet

John Németh & The Blue Dreamers (USA)

With Special Guests Kid Andersen & Bob Welsh

One Of The Most Fascinating Blues Artists Is Back

Mike Zito Big Blues Band (USA)

Featuring the B.B. King Horns

The very best in American Blues & Roots Music

Damon Fowler's Desoto Tiger (USA)

Chicago Blues Guitar Heroes Together

Chicago Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

Dave Specter, Guy King & Steve Freund feat. Brother John Kattke

The Best New Act On The International Blues & Roots Scene

Lindsay Beaver - Brad Stivers Band (USA)

The best two blues guitar women together

Sue Foley Band feat. Laura Chavez & The Texas Horns (USA)

The Blues & Roots Piano Sensation Is Back - Multiple Blues Music Award Winner and Grammy nominee

Victor Wainwright & The Train plus Horns (USA)

The New Orleans Legend And One Of The Best Harmonica Players On The Planet

Johnny Sansone & Band (USA)

One of the shining stars of tomorrow's blues rock scene

Nick Schnebelen & Band (USA)

The Best Traditional Blues Band In The World With A Special Line-Up

Sugar Ray Norcia & The Bluestones feat. Duke Robillard & Greg Piccolo (USA)

World Premiere: Two West Coast Legends Together

Rick Estrin & Joe Louis Walker with The Nightcats (USA)

The Real Deal - New Orleans Swamp Blues Superstar

Kenny Neal Band (USA)

Limited Edition - Only Concert in Europe - The Guitar Player of the Fabulous Thunderbirds with a Texas All-Star Band

Johnny Moeller presents the Moeller Brothers feat. Paul Size & Mike Barfield (USA)

Chicagos Best with an All-Star Band

Nick Moss Band feat. Laura Chavez & Andrew Duncanson (USA)

The Guitar Hero And Member of Rick Estrin's Nightcats With His All-Stars

Kid Andersen's Greaseland All-Star Revue (USA)

Featuring Lisa Leuschner Andersen

The Blues Superstars Are Back Again!

The New Blues Giants (USA)

feat. Mike Zito, Kid Andersen, Lisa Andersen, Albert Castiglia, Willie J. Campbell & Jimi Bott

Blues-Rock At It's Best

Albert Cummings Band (USA)

Tad Robinson & The Memphis All-Stars (USA)

feat. The Hi Rhythm Section & Friends

The Blues Supergroup and # 1 of the Billboard Blues Charts

The Proven Ones (USA)

feat. Jimi Bott, Willie J. Campbell, Anthony Geraci, Kid Ramos, Brian Templeton

Freitag 16.09.2022 / 20:30 Uhr
Limited Edition - Only Concert in Europe - The Guitar Player Of The Fabulous Thunderbirds with a Texas All-Star Band

Johnny Moeller presents the Moeller Brothers feat. Paul Size & Mike Banfield (USA)

Johnny Moeller steht seit 10 Jahren auf der Wunschliste von Groove Now. Er ist einer der wenigen Musiker, die noch auf unserer Wunschliste standen und wir bisher nicht präsentieren konnten. Es ist auch nicht ganz so einfach, ihn nach Europa zu bringen. Der Grund dafür ist relative einfach: Johnny ist der Gitarrist der legendären Band von Kim Wilson: The Fabulous Thunderbirds. Und muss somit immer zuerst auf die Termine der “T-Birds” Rücksicht nehmen.

 

mehr lesen


Wir schätzen uns daher äusserst glücklich, dass es uns nach vielen Jahren und unermüdlichem Versuchen gelungen ist, diesen grossartigen Gitarristen und Musiker nach Europa zu holen und für sein einziges Konzert in Basel präsentieren zu können.

Wir konnten mit Johnny ein tolles Programm definieren: Ein Programm mit Musikern, die Johnny ein Leben lang begleitet haben. Dazu gehört neben seinem Bruder und Schlagzeuger Jay (beide Brüder sind auch bekannt als The Moeller Brothers) steht mit Paul Size ein anderer grossartiger Gitarrist auf der Bühne. Last but not least: Mit Mike Barfield bringt Johnny einen Sänger mit, der bei uns völlig zu unrecht relative unbekannt ist.

Johnny stammt aus Fort Worth in Texas. Geboren 1970. Auch er wächst in einer musikalischen Familie auf. Hört viel Blues und Soul.  Aus dem Radio strömt Rockmusik. Gleichzeitig taucht er in die Musik des grossartigen Jazz-Gitarristen Grant Green ein. Der Blues ist und bleibt jedoch jederzeit der Kompass der Musik von Johnny. Bereits während seiner Zeit in der High School spielt er in den Clubs in Dallas und Fort Worth.

Im Sommer spielen Johnny und sein jüngerer Bruder – Jay -, der Schlagzeug spielt – damals 16 respektive 15 Jahre alt – bereits im legendären Club Antone’s in Austin. Deren Besitzer – Clifford Antone -, der massgeblich an der Karriere von Stevie Ray Vaughan mitgewirkt hat, äussert sich in den höchsten Tönen über Johnny Moeller: “Niemand verkörpert dieses Feuer, wie dies Johnny tut. Johnny hat das Herz von Stevie Ray; der Einzige, bei ich solche Leidenschaft gesehen habe. Und gleichzeitig ist er ein solch ruhiger und sanfter Mensch. Vielleicht werden solche Menschen etwas übersehen.”

Wer Johnny Moeller einmal live erlebt hat, wird ihn nicht mehr so schnell vergessen. Sein Gitarrenspiel ist äusserst dynamisch; gleichzeitig beherrscht er sämtliche Formen des Gitarrenspiels und inkorporiert zahlreiche Stile. Er ist kaum mit einem anderen Gitarristen vergleichbar. Sein Gitarrenspiel singt, swingt, groovt, rockt: Johnny spielt Funk, Soul, Blues und Rock’n’Roll. Es ist ein Amalgam aus verschiedenen Musikstilen. Er spielt Chords und Solos, die eher an ein Piano oder sogar an Jazz erinnern. Er passt in keine Schublade. Beinflusst ist er von Freddie King, Earl King, Lightnin’ Hopkins, Grant Green und den Vaughan Brüdern. Wer jedoch in seinem Spiel Anleihen anderer Texaner wie Albert Collins oder Stevie Ray Vaughan sucht, wird nicht fündig werden.

Johnny Moeller hat auf zahlreichen Alben mitgewirkt und seine unverwechselbaren Licks zum Beispiel auf Aufnahmen von Darrell Nulisch, Lou Pride, Steve Guyger oder Tad Robinson verewigt. Ein T-Bird – bei den Fabulous Thunderbirds von Kim Wilson – ist er seit 2007. Es gibt drei Solo-Alben von Johnny: “The Return of the Funky Worm”, “Johnny’s Blues Aggregation” und “Bloogaloo!” aus dem Jahr 2010. In Austin lebt Johnny mit seiner Frau und drei Kindern. Dort spielt er zumeist lokale Gigs, wenn er nicht gerade mit den T-Birds unterwegs ist.

Mit Paul Size wird ein weiterer grossartiger Gitarrist auf der Bühne stehen. Paul stammt aus Dallas und war während dreier Jahre Mitglied der legendären Band “The Red Devils”. Paul hat mit weltbekannten Musikern wie Mick Jagger, Los Lobos, The Allman Brothers, The Black Crowes oder Doyle Bramhall und Doyle Bramhall II gespielt. Die ZZ Top-Legende Billy Gibbons hält Paul für einen der zehn besten Gitarristen, die er je gesehen hat. Dieser Superlativ ist nicht mehr zu toppen.

Sein Schlagzeug spielender Bruder - Jay – war vor ein paar Jahren ebenfalls ein “T-Bird”. Beide Brüder sind auch als The Moeller Brothers bekannt. Jay spielt – neben seinem Bruder Johnny - mit vielen anderen Texas-Musikern wie zum Beispiel Shawn Pittman. Jay hat ebenfalls auf Aufnahmen von Gary Clark Jr. mitgewirkt.

Mit Mike Barfield bringt Johnny einen weiteren Mitstreiter mit, mit dem er seit vielen Jahren zusammenspielt. Mike ist in Europa eher unbekannt. Er hat eine tolle Stimme und grosse Bühnenpräsenz. Mike verkörpert den Memphis Blues und Soul im Stile eines Tony Joe White. Auf der Bühne bewegt er sich auch gerne mal im Stile von James Brown.

Zurzeit arbeitet Johnny zum einen mit seinem Bruder und Paul Size sowie zum anderen mit Mike Barfield an zwei Projekten, die dann sicherlich einen wichtigen Bestandteil der Show in Basel darstellen werden.

Für den Bass-Part wird Johnny auf einen der vielen tollen Bassisten in Texas zurückgreifen und dies relativ kurzfristig entscheiden. Auf jeden Fall können wir uns auf ein musikalisches Feuerwerk freuen, das in Europa nur ganz selten zu sehen ist – wenn überhaupt. Aus diesem Grund freuen wir uns auch ganz besonders, dass sich unsere jahrelangen Bemühungen auszahlen und wir Johnny für sein einziges Konzert in Europa von den “T-Birds” losreissen konnten.

Die glücklichen Ticketbesitzer dieses Konzertes können sich auf grossartige Musiker und ein musikalisches Feuerwerk freuen.  

Johnny Moeller – Guitar, Vocals
Jay Moeller – Drums, Vocals
Paul Size – Guitar
Mike Barfield – Vocals, shakers
Tbd – Bass

Konzertdetails:
Freitag, 16. September 2022
Atlantis, Klosterberg 13, Basel
Türöffnung: 20 h
Konzertbeginn: 20.30 h
Tickets: CHF 69

Keine garantierten Sitzplätze!


 


 

Videos
Download Pressebild


Zurück

Postponed to 2022 due to corona virus

Nick Moss Band (USA)

Featuring Dennis Gruenling & Andrew Duncanson

Postponed to 2021 Due To Corona Virus

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

With Special Guest Lisa Leuschner Andersen

Postponed to 2021 Due To Corona Virus

Mike Zito Big Blues Band (USA)

Featuring the B.B. King Horns

Cancelled Due To Corona Virus

Sugaray Rayford's Groove Now 10th Anniversary All-Star Revue (USA)

featuring Mike Zito, John Németh, Kid Andersen, Lisa Leuschner Andersen, Albert Castiglia

Band Of The Year 2019 - Eight Nominations For The US Blues Music Awards 2020taining Blues Bands

Rick Estrin & The Nightcats (USA)

The greatest voice in Blues & Roots is back

Danielle Nicole Band (USA)

The best blues guitar players of Texas

Texas Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

Feat. Anson Funderburgh, Shawn Pittman & Mike Morgan (USA)

Florida and West Coast All-Stars Play The Blues - World Premiere

Doug Deming‘s Blues All-Stars (USA)

feat. Junior Watson, Terry Hanck & Sax Gorodn

20 US-Blues-Music-Award-Nominations: The Best Soul-Blues Singer On The Planet

John Németh & The Blue Dreamers (USA)

With Special Guest Kid Andersen & Bob Welsh

One Of The Most Fascinating Blues Artists Is Back

Mike Zito Big Blues Band (USA)

Featuring the B.B. King Horns

The very best in american blues & roots music

Damon Fowler Florida All-Stars (USA)

Chicago Blues Guitar Heroes Together

Chicago Blues Guitar Summit (USA)

Dave Specter, Guy King & Steve Freund feat. Brother John Kattke

The Best New Act On The International Blues & Roots Scence

Lindsay Beaver - Brad Stivers Band (USA)

The best two blues guitar women together

Sue Foley Band feat. Laura Chavez & The Texas Horns (USA)

Einzige Konzerte in Europa!

The New Orleans Legend And One Of The Best Harmonica Players On The Planet

Johnny Sansone & Band (USA)

One of the shining stars of tomorrow's blues rock scene

Nick Schnebelen & Band (USA)

The Best Traditional Blues Band In The World With A Special Line-Up

Sugar Ray Norcia & The Bluestones feat. Duke Robillard & Greg Piccolo (USA)

World Premiere: Two West Coast Legends Together

Rick Estrin & Joe Louis Walker with The Nightcats (USA)

Limited Edition - Only Concert in Europe - The Guitar Player Of The Fabulous Thunderbirds with a Texas All-Star Band

Johnny Moeller presents the Moeller Brothers feat. Paul Size & Mike Banfield (USA)

Chicagos Best with an All-Star Band

Nick Moss Chicago Blues Revue feat. Laura Chavez (USA)

The guitar hero and member of Rick Estrin's Nightcats With His All-Stars

Kid Andersen's Greaseland All-Star Revue (USA)

Feat. Lisa Leuschner Andersen

The Blues Superstars Are Back Again!

The New Blues Giants (USA)

feat. Mike Zito, Kid Andersen, Lisa Andersen, Albert Castiglia, Willie J. Campbell & Jimi Bott

Blues-Rock At It's Best

Albert Cummings Band (USA)

Tad Robinson & The Memphis All-Stars (USA)

feat. The Hi Rhythm Section & Friends

The Blues Supergroup and # 1 of the Billboard Blues Charts

The Proven Ones (USA)

feat. Jimi Bott, Willie J. Campbell, Anthony Geraci, Kid Ramos, Brian Templeton